The Oath Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
½ January 22, 2019
I mean, I could actually see Ike looking a little like Bill Engvall as he gets older.

But forrealz, I can't decide if this would be better/less stressful or just seem completely ridiculous if so much of it didn't hit so close to home.
Super Reviewer
January 19, 2019
Did not go the way that I expected, but I'm counting that as a good thing, I don't mind a movie taking a different path to the one I thought it would, my expectations are on me, and a pleasant surprise is still pleasant. Speaking of surprises, I like Tiffany Haddish in in this, something (based on my prior experiences) I didn't think would ever happen.
January 17, 2019
somewhat entertaining, but overall wasn't a fan of this movie. it was mildy funny, intriguing at times. but too political and commentary-y (1 viewing)
January 16, 2019
I really like this movie I think it's poignant for what's going on right now but also takes kind of a weird turn
but it kind of shows what could happen and it was also funny
I really like Ike Barinholtz
so I would highly recommend this movie just have to watch it with an open mind
½ January 14, 2019
I hated every second of this movie, I wish I didnt see it. why did they even do this movie? I can't even describe how horrible this movie was.I'm just sorry for the 93 minutes that were taken away from my life
January 13, 2019
This is a pointless , unfunny, profanity-laden poor excuse for a movie.
January 13, 2019
The cover of this movie "said me", watch it dude. I will watch it using boxxy software with super quality.
½ January 12, 2019
One of the worst movies I have ever watched, almost excruciating. How the hell does Xfinity rate this as a 4 star movie and critics on Rotten Tomatoe a 61% and the Audience 60%? What the hell is America's entertainment smoking these days? Wacky weed? If I could give it negative stars, I would. I had hoped that the movie was more of a comedy as the previews showed it to be, but alas, not. The movie went downhill from the first scene and kept getting worse. Now, mind you, I understand that this was movie was a left liberal attempt to make the conservative right look like monsters in a dark satirical way, but it failed even at that. I like good humor and fun poked at politics on both sides, but this was nothing more than an attempt to bash the right. It just wasn't good movie making. Plus, calling this a comedy was a bigger fail than the movie itself.
½ January 12, 2019
Worst movie of the year!
January 12, 2019
Political dissension sweeps across the country as the Federal Government wants its citizens to sign a loyalty pledge, known as The Oath. If they don't sign they may get a visit from the CPU (Citizen's Protection Unit) and some of the non-signers may be whisked away to unknown locations.

A family that's gathering for Thanksgiving is also ripped apart by this political turmoil. Unfortunately, as I see it, most of the dark humor here falls very flat or is just mean-spirited, and do we really need a crude expletive here every other sentence?

I thought the last half of the movie contained enough tension to keep my interest, but overall this film was a disappointment. I will say the political points it espouses may be closer in some ways than we think.
½ January 11, 2019
Worst movie ever
Should have read reviews
Tiffany haddish u sold out with this one
Dude Ike has major issues not understanding how to write or direct in today´┐ 1/2 1/2 world. Straight to redbox shouldn´┐ 1/2 1/2 1/2(TM)t even be this bad. Movie literally makes no sense to be made. Stop funding crap hollyweird
½ January 11, 2019
This movie was horrible. We thought it would be funny when we watched the trailer, but we were terribly disappointed.
January 11, 2019
It'll make you cackle, cringe, and cry for the crumbling of America. Aided by a cast filled with some of the smartest comedic talent working today, first-timer Barinholtz cuts deep into our modern political quagmire with a satire as smartly sharp as it is dangerously sharp. The acerbic humor is so true to life at points that it practically burns, and there's no way to sit through it but to squirm. Viewers on the right who can stomach the whole---if there even are any---will no doubt feel attacked; centrists will clutch their pearls and decry the wry-teous indignation; and even liberals getting to watch their rage fantasies lived out on screen will balk to see the futility of that anger. In no way does that mean that the film somehow performs some sort of both-sides handwringing or is an lame equal-opportunity-offender, for there are clearly bad guys (jingoistic chauvinists) and good guys (informed progressives) here.

That said, even though the film does an admirable and impassioned defense of free speech and denunciation of creeping fascist violence (though not violence per se), the politics never cut any deeper than the most basic civil liberties, never touching upon economic justice or corruption. But that's not what the film is after, for as political a film as this is, it is less a screed for revolution than a satire of self-care maintaining day to day normalcy and modes of #resistance in an age of deplorable nationalism. While the pace does lose steam during the third act, when fresh hell breaks loose and chaos reigns, the nonsensical mayhem is as much a storytelling crutch as a reflection of our contemporary political aporia---how else will our unbridled anger end but like that? can we imagine any other ending? can we imagine an end at all? That feeling of indecision and impotence, while maybe not narratively satisfying in the way Hollywood usually spoon feeds us pure fantasy, is nonetheless the film's smartest and most uncomfortable choice.
January 11, 2019
Pretty good, I liked the fact it was a unique film.
½ January 9, 2019
Took too long to get to the funny part. The movie is very predictable.and not funny
January 9, 2019
of course it was a bit over the top but it it had it's merit. Funny and dark at times. Very current and the cast was good.
½ January 7, 2019
Just what we don't need in this country, more fear-ridden, liberal stereotypes of peoople conservative views Oh, I'm sorry it was all just a joke.
½ January 4, 2019
The movie has laughs. The premise was disturbing because it doesn't seem far off from reality, most of the movie I hoped Trump doesn't get wind of the concept presented. Tiffany Haddish struggled to find the correct tone throughout the film.
January 3, 2019
Not what i expected from tiffany, but whatever do what makes you money
½ December 30, 2018
Don´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t waste your time. It´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s the classic train wreck. You can´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t take your eyes off even though you know the outcome will be tragic. Haddish was better than expected given subpar material. This movie had the potential to be a great dark comedy depicting our current climate and it just went haywire. No continuity in the script and just overly acted.
Sadly, it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s 93 minutes I´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)ll never get back.
Page 1 of 3